A drink for my lady

23 Dec

Here we are, all alive and still working after this fictitious Mayan end of the world. After the 21st of December my daily routine was exactly the same, I had an easy night shift last night as well and overall I gotta say this new Mayan era is shaping out pretty good.
Two nights ago, while bar-hopping around town with my colleague and patiently waiting for our doomed destiny, I decided to create a drink for my girlfriend, who’s spending Xmas with her family in beautiful Vancouver. The idea was to concoct a beer cocktail, as my girlfriend drinks none of it, and it would pose quite a challenge to come up with something potable for her hop-hating palate.
Also, I must say that I was inspired by this clever project posted on Measure and Stir
So without further ado, here’s the drink!

“Redhead in Poco”

Ingredients:
0.75 oz. Calvados
1.25 oz Tequila anejo
0.5 oz. fresh strained lime juice
0.5 oz. honey syrup
0.25 oz. Campari

Garnish:
Apple peel flower and apple skewer.

Prep:
Combine all the ingredients except Campari in a mixing glass and stir with ice until the honey syrup is entirely diluted, strain in a Collins glass full with cracked ice and top with wheatbeer (I used Hoegaarden white). Pour Campari, mix gently, top with more ice and spray abundant Angostura bitters to give color and aroma. Garnish with apple peel rose and few pieces of apple on a skewer.

wpid-20121222_195843.jpg

So for this drink I chose to go for transitive property, as in: tequila and beer love each other, tequila and apple go great together therefore apple and beer must be perfect. I decided to use Campari for its cinnamon like quality, to give a bit of holiday season touch, and of course Angostura to impart more depth to the whole thing. The Belgian white wheatbeer, very floral and citrusy, played perfectly with the spirit base and the resulting sip is fairly complex with a lingering apple finish. Campari really does his job too. I would love to try this with some Mezcal but unfortunately we don’t stock any at the moment.
My only regret is that my girl will have to wait another 2 weeks before trying this out, although I am sure she’ll love it.

Ps. the name of the drink was supposed to be in honor of my girlfriend’s new hair color.. unfortunately in the first pics I saw the hair seemed almost red, hence the title. In reality it is a beautiful brunette with purple shades but I saw it too late..

2 Responses to “A drink for my lady”

  1. Joseph Tkach December 23, 2012 at 7:05 pm #

    This sounds great! I’ll have to mix one up, myself.

    • raffaelebellomi December 24, 2012 at 12:01 am #

      please do mate and let me know your opinion!! thanx and have a good holiday season

Leave a Reply

ArchivioVerona

Coming soon...

The Straight Up

Pre-prohibition cocktails and modern twists on classics

swizzzlestick

Cocktails, Good Drinks and other Stuff

Cardiff Cocktails

BY MARK HOLMES

mdh

my bits and pieces, hints and thesis.

Death To Sour Mix

crafting fine cocktails, libation mistakes and everything in between

Shake, Strain & Sip

modern contemporary craft cocktails

ARCTIC GRUB

Foods from the fjords of Norway

The 3 Archers

eating, drinking, creating

The Boo Lion

Discovering cocktails and mixed drinks

Rated R Cocktails

Sobriety is the disease, we're the cure.

Booze Nerds

It's all about our ridiculous love of booze

Measure & Stir

A Craft Cocktail Blog for the Home Bartender that Focuses on Original Creations Drawn from Culinary Inspiration.

Putney Farm

Get some good food. Cook it. Share with friends. Have a cocktail.

The Liquid Culture Project

Dedicated to a Culture of Better Drinking

Art of Drink

A blog about drinks and people.. mostly drinks though

Boozed + Infused

Infusing liqueurs at home with inspiring and seasonal ingredients

Comments for Liquor.com

A blog about drinks and people.. mostly drinks though

A MOUNTAIN OF CRUSHED ICE

Why is it that crushed ice makes everything in life so much better? probably because there´s RUM in it....“What one rum can’t do, three rums can" - Don the Beachcomber

A blog about drinks and people.. mostly drinks though

